Bewertung der Kanzlei Heynemann durch die Wirtschaftswoche

Medical Liability

The focus of our activities is the area of medical liability. The medical liability law was standardized in 2013 through the Rights of Patients Act. However, this did nothing to improve the legal situation of damaged patients. But it also did not make it worse.

You are still entitled to compensation and damages if your health has been compromised due to a medical treatment error. However, you must present proof for the following 3 conditions:

  • the medical treatment error,
  • the damage,
  • the causal relationship between the medical treatment error and the damage (that the damage in fact resulted from the medical error).

In many cases the third condition presents the most difficulty. If other causes can be considered for the damage, such as a pre-existing illness or condition, the court could come to the conclusion that the causal relationship could not be proven. The case is dismissed. To disprove such an assessment requires utmost professional insight and commitment from us lawyers and the medical professionals with whom we collaborate. We work with experts covering all medical areas, who, if required, will provide us with a medical assessment/expert report.

But there are also simpler cases. For example, when the court comes to the conclusion that a serious medical treatment error exists. In this case the burden of proof is reversed with regard to the causal relationship – the attending physician must prove that the resulting injury was not in fact caused by a medical error. Further exceptions have been established through precedential cases.

Many different medical treatment errors exist. For example:

  • wrong diagnoses,
  • insufficient clarification/explanation,
  • measures not carried out/not applied in time,
  • missing but required clinical results/reports
  • or also an operation carried out unprofessionally.

Often the patients are uncertain as they do not know whether in fact a medical treatment error has lead to their injury or whether the injury might be a result or the normal course of their illness. It is our task to figure that out.

Assessment of Damages

Has a medical treatment error been established as the cause of the injury, damages must be assessed (quantified). The following positions can be enforced:

  • compensation for injuries suffered
  • Verdienstausfallschaden
  • loss of earnings
  • maintenance
  • housekeeping
  • care needs
  • additional costs incurred through the damage such as travel expenses etc.

In order to establish what damages and to what amount can be enforced in your specific case, not only your medical history must be analyzed in great detail, but also how you will live with the injury incurred in the future.

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinrss
Bewertung der Kanzlei Heynemann durch die Wirtschaftswoche
Scroll Up

kanzlei@medizinrecht-heynemann.de

Arzthaftung

Der Kernpunkt unserer Tätigkeit ist die Arzthaftung. Das Arzthaftungsrecht wurde im Jahr 2013 durch das Patientenrechtegesetz normiert, was die bisherige rechtliche Situation geschädigter Patienten jedoch nicht verbessert hat. Aber immerhin auch nicht verschlechtert.

Sie haben immer noch Anspruch auf Schmerzensgeld und Schadensersatz, wenn nach einem ärztlichen Behandlungsfehler ein Schaden entstanden ist. Allerdings müssen Sie diese 3 Voraussetzungen beweisen können:

  • den Behandlungsfehler,
  • den Schaden,
  • den Ursachenzusammenhang zwischen dem Behandlungsfehler und dem Schaden.

Die Schwierigkeit besteht meist darin, die dritte Voraussetzung zu beweisen. Sind andere Ursachen für den Schaden denkbar, etwa eine Vorerkrankung, so kann das Gericht durchaus zu dem Ergebnis gelangen, dass der Ursachenzusammenhang nicht bewiesen wurde. Und die Klage wird abgewiesen. Eine solche Einschätzung zu widerlegen, erfordert ein Höchstmaß an fachlichem Wissen und Engagement. Von uns Anwälten und von den Ärzten, mit denen wir eng zusammenarbeiten. Diese Ärzte kommen aus sämtlichen Fachgebieten und erstellen uns ggf. auch Gutachten.

Aber es gibt auch einfachere Fälle. Wenn zum Beispiel ein Gericht zu dem Ergebnis kommt, dass ein grober Behandlungsfehler vorliegt. Dann kehrt sich die Beweislast hinsichtlich des Ursachenzusammenhanges um – und der behandelnde Arzt muss beweisen, dass der eingetretene Schaden nicht Folge des Behandlungsfehlers ist. Weitere Ausnahmen sind von der Rechtsprechung entwickelt worden.

Behandlungsfehler können vielfacher Natur sein. Hierzu gehören z.B.:

  • falsche Diagnosen,
  • unzureichende Aufklärung,
  • nicht rechtzeitig ergriffene Maßnahmen,
  • fehlende, aber erforderliche Befunderhebung
  • oder auch eine nicht fachgerechte Operation.

Oft sind Patienten verunsichert, da sie nicht wissen, ob tatsächlich ein Behandlungsfehler zu ihrem Schaden geführt hat. Oder ob es eine Nebenwirkung ist oder der Verlauf ihrer Krankheit. Das herauszufinden, ist unsere Aufgabe.

Schadensbezifferung

Steht ein Behandlungsfehler als Schadensursache fest, müssen die Schäden beziffert werden. Folgende Schadenspositionen können geltend gemacht werden:

  • Schmerzensgeld
  • Verdienstausfallschaden
  • Unterhaltsschaden
  • Haushaltsführungsschaden
  • Pflegemehrbedarf
  • Schadensbedingte Zuzahlungen, Fahrtkosten etc.

Um zu erfassen, was und in welcher Höhe speziell bei Ihnen geltend gemacht werden kann, muss nicht nur Ihre vergangene Leidensgeschichte genauestens analysiert werden. Sondern auch, wie Sie in Zukunft mit Ihrem Leiden leben werden.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plus rss